Converting cassette multitracks to digital

Mr.Ease

Whadup party people? Apologies if this has issue has been specifically addressed, I couldn't find it. (My initial post in the DP-24 love thread was met by cricket chirps).
Being an absolute beginner in this area, I wonder if someone here might be kind enough to point me in the right direction. I just ordered a DP-24 and my 1st project is digitizing my old 4 track tapes. My 1st issue:
I have a Tascam 424 I've never used previously & I need to know how to dump 4 tracks at once since the only outs are 2 RCA's, a headphone out, & 1 effects send.
Furthermore, I'd like to know how to make the tapes sound as good as possible (restore as much lost frequencies as I can, minimize phasing if possible). The question is should I employ outboard gear? (if so, which makes/models) Or should I forgo rack equip entirely, & once the tracks are on the flash drive, should I use software to clean up the audio? (And which programs?) :confused: Thanks very much for your suggestions.

Unless you want to mix the tracks together (4 tracks to stereo out), you can only send 2 seperate tracks out of the 424 at a time.

You can't 'restore' lost frequencies. If the signal is not there, its not there. Using EQ, you can boost signals that are low, but they have to be there first.
If you are going to use software to try to clean up the old recordings, you'd do better to skip the DP-24 entirely in the process, use an audio interface to send the audio signals from the 424 directly to a DAW (recording program).

Thanks a lot for your response Mike I appreciate it. Of course you're right about lost frequencies. I kind of forgot about that. I meant to say enhance what's still there. What I was thinking is, I would dump the tape tracks to the flash card, put the flash card in the computer, and tweak from there with the right ware/plugins. But if I don't get any alternative responses, I'll def take your advice, thanks!:thumbs up: