Opinions and tips for my premaster

pod4477

hey guys i was wondering if people could give me any tips or thoughts about my premaster. Only up to the chorus has drums and therefor that is the only part i really mixed. The song is "How It Feels (premaster)" on my mysapce which is located at http://www.myspace.com/markpmusic. Thanks guys for all your help.

hey sorry guys about the whole stupid myspace thing. I'm going to upload the song because it just sounds horrible and inaccurate to judge when its streamed.

the vox are too low in the mix for me and sound really compressed which may be why the seem so far back.

good tune otherwise!

ya it may be the compression but after adding compression it made them stand closer so idk maybe its the eq. also in the verse i used a wierd effect. So thats prolly why. which vocals are u tlakin about?

Last edited:
Pretty loud. Pretty full on.
The bass REALLY lacks definition.
I've no knowledge of nu/rapmetal so can't comment in genre context.
The vocal level is fine. The b/vox are VERY cliched.
Have you run this through a bank of limiters & compressors?
There's very little dynamic range - it has a Spinal Tap sense of internal volume balance.
Pretty flash playing.

(note: I'm listening thrue dollar store headphones)

the snare seems a bit loud (not by much)
the bass dosn't seem to have much character to it (lacks definition as mentioned before)
and the guitar at 0:38 ish (the parts where the chords starts) lacks alot of balls
it seams kinda weak compared to the rest
no comments on the vocals. it's much better than i could do.

hope this was helpful

ya the bass has always been my problem. maybe its also because its as an mp3 but that wouldnt matter right? I'm sorta just tryin different EQ's with the bass. I should have listened through a sub first before i mixed this because i know the level im looking for and listening to it now on my sub the bass sounds shitty.

"The b/vox are VERY cliched" whats that mean?