Can you tell me about this Beck Cover song I recorded?

Nola

It's called bogusflow. i'm kinda obsessed with it.

I'm not a good engineer or musician or anything, but i have a lot of fun recording so i keep doing it. anyway in the recording technique thread i asked about a beck song with reverb and tonight i tried to recreate the sound so i'm wondering how it is. it was just one take with a mic on my foot hitting a suitcase, my guitar tuned down 7 steps to A, and the vocal.

https://soundcloud.com/nolanso1/bogusflow

Last edited:
Strange song. Never heard it before. I can't compare you to Beck as I'm not too familiar. The recording sounds pretty good for what it is. Guitar is sounding good, whatever you did to it. Whatever reverb you are putting on the vocal isn't helping. You've got a lot of the room in the track from using one mic. The reverb brings it right out, sounding boxy.

Strange song. Never heard it before. I can't compare you to Beck as I'm not too familiar. The recording sounds pretty good for what it is. Guitar is sounding good, whatever you did to it. Whatever reverb you are putting on the vocal isn't helping. You've got a lot of the room in the track from using one mic. The reverb brings it right out, sounding boxy.

hi robus. this is the beck song. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8J3qrqEp250

i think it's in 3/4 time or maybe 6/8 now that i hear it, and i think i might have played it in 4/4 without even realizing...crap.

i made a mistake i used two mics. an omni mic to record the guitar and foot, and then a 2nd mic (cardiod i think) on the vocal and only put reverb on the vocal so it shouldn't pick up too much but i added delay, too, so maybe it's doing something crazy. if you look in the recording technique thread there's another beck song in there that uses a lot of reverb and that's the one i was trying to rip off the sound of.

Hi Nola,