Im new - some guidance would be appreciated!

guitarmonky55

Alright first off hello all Im a newbie and I plan on being very active and learning as much as I can here from now on, and hopefully someday ill be wise enough to contribute back :D please stay with me this will be a long winded post:

So I am the guitarist in a rock band and Ive always kind of screwed around with recording. We recently decided to move into an empty room we have available and build a practice space/recording space for ourselves. I write and record so much music(at mediocre quality I might add) that I decided to go ahead and purchase a killer recording rig for my own use as well as the bands.

The heart of what I bought was a digi 003 rack+, and I got a digimax fs pre so I can run 16 mics(we like to jam and record to disk with vocals, guitars, basses, and the whole drum kit miced up so we use most of them alot to write songs and such)

As far as the rest, Im using an intel iMac thats loaded spec wise, pro tools 8, and I have some plugins outside of what came with the digi like the autotune studio bundle and izotope ozone 4 (I dont use autotune for the band, Im a poor singer so I use it for me!). I have a pretty good mic collection ive accrued over the last ~2 years(I used to mess with an mbox 2). Ive got an sm57/58, an at3031, a rode nt1a, a sennheiser e609, and an audix dp7 drum mic kit.

ok so now that you have a general idea of my equipment, onto why im starting this thread! my band needed a basic demo to get booked on a big band showcase in Houston and the deadline happened to coincide with the week I bought all of this stuff. So we spent 4 days recording 3 songs and not really having any idea what we are doing, it came out well enough to land us the gig and be generally entertaining to listen to, but in the end I have no friggin clue how to really mix this stuff to sound as good as I know it could get.