Top 10 Most Frequently Asked Questions about Mastering

Awesome article!!! I use to work for a mastering studio... now i am a producer and mix engineer. I'm sending this article to all of my studio clients who ask me about mastering and why they should do it. Thanks!

Audio Mastering - Audiofanzine

Feel free to add your own...I think this is a good place to start.

Wow! As a newbie at home recording I really enjoyed reading this. I have to admit that I understood very little about mastering. I still don't know how those engineers do what they do, but at least I now have a clearer picture as to what they do and why it's important. I've always wondered about what to do with my songs after I've mixed them. How do I get them in order to make an album? How do I get them to sound like they fit together? It turns out that THAT is mastering... or at least part of it! Very enlightening! Thanks for sharing.

Just a cursory glance over that article -- Rather refreshing to read something other than "The mastering guy makes it really loud." :spank:

Nice.

(EDIT) Aw man - That was Tom V...? Now it makes sense. :thumbs up:

How do I want my final mixes to sound to anybody who plays back my music on anything? If this forum isn't just about Kid Pop and Rock (and all it's various forms and genres) mastering does two important things. 1, it gives distinction where there might not have been much and separation for stereo images and frequency parameters and 2, it elevates levels. (makes the music louder) Having said this, hiring someone to master a perfect final mix might be questionable. Especially if this ME doesn't know the artist and what he/she is trying to express. Who are you mastering your music for? Why is this next step in the production process so important in today's open media?

- Mastering Then and Now : Recording Magazine -