Connecting unbalanced outs to balanced IN?

boldandfunny

Stupid questions from a noob here - but I can't find an answer on this forum

I am probably buying a Tascam US-600.
Unit has 4 balanced mic inputs + 1 unbalanced guitar HighZ (as a combi with mic1) +
3 balanced line inputs (as combi with mic 2-4).
Description of Mic/Line 2,3,4 combies says:
XLR: (1:GND; 2 Hot; 3 Cold)
TRS (1/4): Tip: HOT, Ring: COLD, Sleeve:GND.

Question 1:
Say I have an unbalanced mike - can I connect it easily? Any problems (like shorting phantom power and killing it by mistake?).
I guess noise will be quit bad if mike cable is of any length.... :-(

Question 2:
I have a small Behringer mixer with unbalanced line out: can I connect those to say 3 and 4 (balanced) line inputs?
I am not worried losing 3 or 6 db of dynamic range really - do I really need a DI box for that?

I am not sure what is standard layout for unbalanced TRS jug : I guess TIP will be hot(signal) and RING/Sleeve will be all long sleeve connected to ground?
So I will get unbalanced "signal" connected to HOT and Ground connected to COLD and Ground - right?

A)Is this going to work?
B)Am I going to get really bad distortion etc?
C)I am not worried about noise probably as I am talking LINE levels here?

Basically is DI a MUST to connect unbalance OUT to balanced input?
Sorry for stupid question probably asked a million times!
Ta very much,
Sergei.

t
But I have to ask, what mic do you have that's unbalanced?
Ha-ha - one from Wallmart costing £5. I am not pretending I am a professional :-)

Great article about hum etc. Need more time to figure it out but basically it says unbalanced into balanced might work with a bit of jigery-pockery.

What about danger to phantom power?
I guess a combi XLR/TRS will not have phantom on TRS, but they also sell XLR/TRS adapters ( I have a couple of those). Hopefully they do not short +48V to the ground :-) but I saw manual saying that one can ruin 48V by connecting unbalanced to balanced?