"Reel" Recording

KingstonRock

PC load letter?
I've been working strictly digital for the past 6 months and I've really done some great stuff. But the more I think about it the more I realize that if i ever want to do this, recording, for real, I'll have to learn the analog end.

I first saw this when a few weeks after buying a motu 24i, i realized that it was probably originally design for dumping a 24-track analog tape into a computer for digital editing. Then I started looking at some of the local studios and not so local studios, and realized EVERYONE tracks in analog.

How practical is it for someone in the home studio arena to move to a "real" analog studio? I've got the soundcard and all the digital editing i could need, but what i lack is, any type of analog recording device, plus i doubt an Allen and Heath 16:2dx could handle analog recording. Its got no tape returns, which i didnt even know existed until reading about the mackie d8b, and only 16 tracks. I never needed more than that at once with a digital setup. But I figure I would need at least 24 analog tracks per song.

I doubt im ready for a full fledged 2 inch 24-track device yet. But if I get a new board, I wanna go all the way with that, i dont wanna waste money on an in-between I'll dump in a few months.

Over the past 6 months I've built up a studio with a pretty nice setup off of profits from bands I've recorded, hr824s the motu 24i the allen and heath, sonar, and various mikes, rode, shure, okatava, akg, etc.

Does anyone think Im ready for this next step? And if so, what is there between a full out tape machine and a porta studio for me to learn on, and what kind of board would I need?

Eric

A lot of new people entering the home recording hobby/business, especially young people have no idea that tape even exists unless you put it in a VCR. They have no idea that most major and many minor studios still track on 1" and 2" honest-to-God analog equipment.