Ancient Teac Deck

Terry Wetzel

Hi, Question. I started out in recording as a hobby in 1971 by purchasing an A-3340s,Teac Reel to Reel deck which, at the time was the closest thing to pro on the consumer market. Over the years, by trial and error I learned a bit about Analog recording.(I'm a musician, or was at the time). I learned from a pro in the studio that I could have the bias tweeked for +3dB in lieu of -10db which i did.Actually I didn't, a local repair shop did. The deck has been tireless over the years and I've taken extreme care of it. Now the reels won't maintain speed,(7&1/2 or 15 ips.) They make a horrible screeching sound and grind to a halt! Although I now use Digital equipment I still would like to be able to implement analog mix down and tape echo which I love the sound of and no digital delay I've heard can equal it, at least to my ear. Sorry for the long winded intro. Here is the question. Does anyone out there know how I might go about having the reel/speed problem corrected? I live in the Atlanta ,Georgia area and no one here seems to know where to look. Please answer on my private messages as I have yet to learn my way around this site. Most appreciative, Thanks.