Good tuner for Intonation?

Sky Blue Lou

I want to do new setups; change string gauge, lower the action, etc. on a couple guitars I've picked up in the last few years. Nothing drastic and nothing I've never done before but I've always intonated by ear and I think I could do better with a decent tuner with a digital readout or needle. The cheapie I have now is just red and green lights. Any suggestions on decent quality tuners that would work good for this as well as on the fly tuning after - I'm not going into business here so it doesn't need to be dedicated to set ups.

Thanks.

lou

You don't need a fancy tuner any tuner will do save your money for other more important tools. What you need is a good understanding of the basics limitations of temperaments and a how they apply to the guitar. Have you read the links in the first post of the sticky on this board?

You don't need a fancy tuner any tuner will do save your money for other more important tools. What you need is a good understanding of the basics limitations of temperaments and a how they apply to the guitar. Have you read the links in the first post of the sticky on this board?

I have - fucking Greek. I will read them again before I fire up but I'm wondering how accurate I can be with a tuner that lights the note and goes green when you're "on". It would seem to me I could do better with a digital frequency indicator or dial gauge, no? I'm not gonna be buying any more tools - other than guitars and amps. If I need pups or pots changed or a new nut or some such I have good local techs for that but I don't want to waste their time and my money on something as simple as going down a string gauge and lowering the bridge.

lou