Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: I built a tele

Thanks

I built a tele

Sign in to disable this ad
    The body is built from some poplar that was leftover from a job that I did a few months ago. The top is mahogany veneer. The sides and back are black. The neck is a mystery neck that I bought on ebay. It turned out to be pretty nice. 12" rad 1-5/8ths nut Strat style rout. The tuners, neck plate, output jack, control cover, and the alnico tele neck pickup are all MM. Noname humbucker bridge, with a noname paf spec pu. Tortoise pickguard. This is my first build so I tried to keep it simple and use it as a learning experience. So far so good.

I fit it together last night for the first time so I could drill all of the holes before completing the finish, shielding, wiring etc.. I'm having trouble making myself take it apart.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails hang-jpg  

Thanks
    Awesome work! I take it you've not gotten to play it yet? I'm wondering how the intonation will be.

Way to go!
    She's not the boss of me

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by punkin
    Awesome work! I take it you've not gotten to play it yet? I'm wondering how the intonation will be.
    Thanks man. After it got the fresh set of walmart 10's. I wired up the humbucker, and plugged in through my volume pedal. Crude but effective.

I was anxious to see how well my layout worked. I wanted to get the best angle from the back of the intonation blocks to the holes through the bridge. Everything worked out fine. The neck height is right where I want it. I didn't have to touch the truss rod. Intonation was easy.

Thanks

Thumbs up

That's amazing. When you mentione "mystery neck" I figured you'd be fooling with the angle and depth till the cows came home.

Good for you!
    She's not the boss of me

Thanks
    Cool man. How's it play/sound? I wish I had the motivation do build a guitar. But, I'm lazy.......and that's that.

Thanks