'House of the Rising Sun' confused about chords

sync

Pending
The chords I'm using for this song are:
Am C D F
Am C E E

The song seems to be in the key of Am. So I'm confused about the D and E chords because those chords aren't part of that key, Dm and Em are.

Can someone explain the theory behind the chords in this song?

Where does it say that D and E aren't part of the Aminor scale???

And WHICH scale??? There's more than one, you know.........

Actually, as a rule of thumb, the "key" of most tunes is the LAST note, because that is what the melody is resolving to.

Keep in mind these are very gross generalizations. And I'm not a theory expert by any means. Trust your ears.

Ok. Forget about what I said about the D and E chords. Can someone explain the theory behind the chords in this song?

I went back to my theory book and I see that I missed something. This song is in the key of A melodic minor which makes the D and E chords major.

I don't think it's correct to say a song is in the "key of A melodic minor." A key is either major or the relative minor (e.g., with no sharps or flats the key is either C or A minor).

But you can say that a song or a melody has a certain flavor, e.g. built using the melodic minor scale, and that harmonizing that scale might well lead to chords that are not standard according to the old common-practice rules that you learn in Theory 101.

The blues are a great example of this. You've got a pentatonic melody with a minor third but you harmonize it with a dominant chord which has a major third.

sync said:
Can someone explain the theory behind the chords in this song?
Because they just sound the way they do. We don't write music so that it conforms to a standard - we write it to sound the way we want it to. A lot of it is due to serendipity, which can later be shown to conform to a standard of theory.

crazydoc said: