First electric guitar help.

JakJak

Im a guitarist and singer.
I already have two acoustic guitars, an Epiphone and an Eastwood.
However I want to now experiment with the electric.

Im not sure what to start off with- im looking for an 'Arcade Fire' type sound.
I guess it should be around the £150 mark, no more.
Also what cables/amps are best for a reasonable price.

Cheers,
Jack

Ibanez GAX30, perfectly decent starter electric, cheap as chips, Fender Mustang amp, also cheap and decent. :)

Squiers can be a good value. Pacifica's, too. I'd go up-market a step or two from the Affinity Squiers, though.

That's about $250 USD. Yeah, I'd agree, Mexi Strats are great values compared to a US, and certainly better guitars than Squires- but if your budget will only allow 250 US, I know from experience, a Squire Standard Strat is a pretty guitar. Not arguing with you, Sirnothingness, just sayin'.

The new Standard Strats are a little nicer than they used to be. This would be a really good starter guitar. So much you can do with it. Down the line you could change pick ups, tremolo etc. I have always said I would rather have an average guitar with a great amp verses the other way around. So, hold out for the average guitar and above average amp if you can. You can't really tell you're playing a cheap guitar through a nice amp. But you could play a custom PRS through a cheap little amp and never be satisfied with the sound.

The average guitar/good amp advise is intriguing. Can't say anything against it, although I never intentionally did it that way.

If you do get a cheap amp, by all means, buy used. They hardly ever go out, and you can sell it 6-12 months later for what you paid for it. Somehow, I keep getting little 15-watt Fender and Peavey practice amps- i lose track of where they come from, it's like they follow me home like puppies. I sell 'em for $40, never ask more (well, occasionally I ask $50,) never take less. They sell within two days.