a very dense Queen style track.

kikkis

Hey guys, if you get a chance, please check out this track.

I totally went for the kitchen sink approach, with roughly 40 vocal overdubs, quadruple-tracked guitars, among other things. The whole mix is in the box using plugins.

Oh, and lyrics are here if you wanna sing along!!

Any tips/feedback would be very handy, I don't really know what I'm doing, I have no technical knowledge on EQ/compression at all, I just sorta trust my ear and try to copy my favourite album's sounds.

Cheers for your time!!

Holy shit!:eek: That's one killer tune. I'm sure there are mix improvements, but I was just listening to all the stuff going on too much to notice. Fanatastic song dude.

Friggin awesome!!! Huge Queen fan here!!My fav period being from Queen I up to Jazz... and this totally has that vibe...but with a modern heaviness that sounds really great!
One of the coolest things I have heard on the home recording forums I frequent....please tell me this is a band recording as I would love to hear more...actually if its a one man bad thing..I would still wanna hear more:p...I would just be excited to know there were still bands doing this kind of stuff!!

Made my day...great job!!

That is a killer tune. Do you have anymore? Also could you give us a run down of the equipment used and the process of production?

Cool thanks dudes.

Nothing fancy gear-wise... 57's and a digi-001. A Strat and a Jazz bass.. The drums are samples though which made life a lot easier. Production process was very primitive... get an idea, record it, move to the second idea.. I kinda did it all in big blocks. I'd record 30 seconds of music (with full instrumentation), send it to my graphic artist friend. He would then send me sketches of how the character in the song would look, so I would be inspired by his drawings, send him more little snippets of the song, he'd draw some more.. etc. REALLY cool way to work.