Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Punch Replace LOGIC 9 bug/user error?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Age
    31
    Posts
    182
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3786

    Punch Replace LOGIC 9 bug/user error?

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I have a question about punch on the fly in logic 9. I use it all the time, mainly in replace mode and it makes my workflow so much easier, but there is a strange thing that happens on about 20% of my sessions that i cant seem to work around.

    I mainly work with audio regions, and While punching on the fly in Replace mode, sometimes the older regions (the old take) do
    not get replaced, and the new region overlaps on top. Any edit to remedy this causes a huge confusing crossfade between the takes, and clicking on the region shows a hybrid form of the mess (some combo of older takes and newer takes overlapping)

    With a single track there in an easy fix,
    Drag the new region(new take) to a new track, and manually erase what should have been replaced in the first place. With drum tracks this can be a headache. Anyone experience this? and its that it is an intermittent problem that worries me. Any help would be appreciated to solve this problem once and for all! Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by The Flame; 05-04-2015 at 05:27. Reason: Error

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Age
    31
    Posts
    182
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    3786
    I think i solved this problem. The trick seems to be:

    When punching in on the fly, the region to be replaced gets highlighted in black; the trick is to NOT CLICK the region when the record button is on and the playhead is moving. If clicked (and the black highlighted border goes away), it tends to tell logic to create a new region on top of the existing region, which creates an overlap which is difficult to edit.

    Hope that helps anyone who had the same problem as me! Thanks!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Possible MIDI problem (probable user error)
    By maxabillion in forum VSTs, Simulators, Sample Packs, Plugins
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2015, 15:44
  2. comuter hardware issue or user error
    By Stefan A in forum Newbies
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-01-2013, 03:49
  3. Humidity or User error?? Desperately need help!!
    By GassyEmu in forum Microphones
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-17-2012, 08:38
  4. 424 MK III User Manual Error Question
    By cbdunn in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-12-2000, 14:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •