Simultaneous multitrack recording

AndyCarpenter

I'm getting into recording with Cakewalk and have had relative success with guitars and vocals, but soon enough I will need to record drums. I will need some kind of sound card or any piece of hardware that will allow me to record several tracks at once (one for each drum mic) that each occupy a seperate track in Cakewalk so that I can edit each drum independently...probably about 8 tracks. Can someone please point me in the right direction? Keep in mind I am fairly new to this. Any help is appreciated.

Delta-1010 by M-audio. No muss, no fuss. Easy installation, good drivers. For me, at least.
I recorded 7 tracks of drums last night. No problem. Could've done 8. I ran out of mic stands. :)
I would upgrade to Sonar for better mixer automation and Win2k to utilize WDM drivers if you haven't already.
Also, you're going to need mic pre's to get the signal into the 1010. It has 1/4" inputs.

I want a delta 1010 too!

Andy it seems like everybody and their brother has a 1010 and I have'nt seen any complaints so it must be the way to go.

Now can somebody borrow me the dough so I can get one too?

Anybody knows the difference between the Delta 1010 and the Delta 1010LT ?

Yeah, the Delta1010 has a PCI card attached via a cable to an external box that houses switchable balanced/unbalanced 1/4" analog inputs, the analog/digital converters, a MIDI interface, and a word clock interface for digital synchronization with other devices. The card itself also carries a S/PDIF port.

http://www.m-audio.com/products/m-audio/delt1010.php

The 1010LT has a PCI card with a big clot of cable ends coming out with all your connectors on it. Two are XLR and have mic preamps; the rest are unbalanced RCA. It also has MIDI, S/PDIF, and word clock i/o. All the electronics are of course on the card. For $300 less than the regular 1010, it seems like a pretty good deal.

http://www.m-audio.com/products/m-audio/1010lt.php