Yamaha MG 16/4 - direct out?

Zorlee

Hi!
I'm very new to home recording. I'm looking for an affordable mixer, and the Yamaha MG 16/4 looked very nice!
I have a 8 i/o soundcard (Inca88) and I need a mixer with direct out (or at least that's what I think I need).
Can I use this mixer and for example use it like this:

Drum mics - mixer - Inca88 - Pc

Or is this not possible with this mixer?
If it is impossible (or that you don't get good quality), recommend me other affordable mixers (I'm on a TIGHT budget, hehe) :)

Zorlee...

That mixer does not have dedicated direct outs but does have a group track and you can use the insert for output trick

You can use the channel insert jack to get a signal directly from that channel's preamp to your Inca. If you download the manual, you can look over the mixer's block diagram.

apl said:
You can use the channel insert jack to get a signal directly from that channel's preamp to your Inca. If you download the manual, you can look over the mixer's block diagram.

So they will work as outputs, and it will not decrease the quality? Sorry I'm such a beginner, hehe :)

So.. If I were to record both bass and drums together - would it work the same way? Or?

Zorlee said:
So they will work as outputs, and it will not decrease the quality? Sorry I'm such a beginner, hehe :)

So.. If I were to record both bass and drums together - would it work the same way? Or?

Your quality will be fine. You can probably plug your bass straight into the inca and get good results.

Awesome!
The thing is... A friend of mine has a cheap Behringer mixer. It's a little noicy, buzzing when the volume is high. Do you have any experiences with the Yamaha MG mixer? I personally love Yamaha's quality, but I've never bought studio equipment or anything like it from Yamaha!

Zorlee said:
Awesome!