writing in dif time signature

A1A2

hello, all, I believe this is my first time in this particular forum, so, hi

I've been writing with 4/4s and 3/4s for awhile, so I thought it's time to do something different. So, i made this 7/4 loop(I think) and it's sounding pretty good right now, but once I grab my guitar, piano or even bass, I find myself staring at the floor for minutes and not having a clue where to start!

So, I was wondering if there is some kind of way to break down the beats and make my life a little easier.

Al

If you want a lesson in writing in odd time sig's, listen to Ten Summoner's Tales or Mercury Falling by Sting, particularly the songs "Seven Days", "I Hung My Head", and "Love is Stronger than Justice."

I also love the way Led Zepplin approached odd metre. John Bonham and JPJ would lay down a rock solid 4/4 groove, and Jimmy Page would play a guitar riff in like 7/4 or whatever, so you ended up with a monster groove with a guitar that feels like it's on a back-beat every other time through. They did this all the time. Listen the "The Ocean" or "Black Dog" for examples.

got mojo?
www.voodoovibe.com

Treat it like compound time -- break it into 4 +3, or 3 + 2 + 2, etc.

Listen to Take Five for a simple example. It's 3 + 2.

I agree that breaking complex times into smaller counts (i.e. 3+2+2) makes counting much easier. However, the only way to play in odd time well is to learn the feel of a song to a point where you can feel the time (rather than count the time).

I work in a jazz/rock group that plays many 5/4, 7/8, 9/8, etc. - even an 18/8 (which I had to break into two 9/8 sections and then sub-count those), and at some point after counting at a few gigs, the feel always comes and the counting can stop.

As much as I enjoy the challenge of playing in odd times I rarely write in odd time. Wen I have my lyricist hat on, I simply find it easier to tell the story in 4/4.

7/4 and mixed meter