Will this get my studio exposure?

stonepiano

Hey everybody,

I'm mastering the art of writing alluring thread subject lines to get views. This was my first one. Did it work?

Now for the real question.

Things to assume:
I'm looking to start a small scale revenue (not profit, revenue:D) generating commercial recording studio in the next year.
I have been recording for free for two years. (Not long by any stretch and I'm a much better musician than engineer.)
I have worked in sales since I got out of college and am comfortable pitching on the spot.

Now, I wouldn't say my home studio is ready to bring in clients yet but I had this idea. Would it be worth the investment to run or maybe sponsor a local open mic in hopes of securing some artists wanting to cut their first demo? My recordings are not top notch but certainly good demo quality. I figure, go to where your market is. The inexperienced artists are (will be) my target demographic so what does everyone think? Has anyone scoured open mics for possible clients? Is this the sleaziest thing I've ever thought up?:( :confused:

Look forward to some opinions.

stone

stonepiano said:
Hey everybody,

I'm mastering the art of writing alluring thread subject lines to get views. This was my first one. Did it work?

Now for the real question.

Things to assume:
I'm looking to start a small scale revenue (not profit, revenue:D) generating commercial recording studio in the next year.
I have been recording for free for two years. (Not long by any stretch and I'm a much better musician than engineer.)
I have worked in sales since I got out of college and am comfortable pitching on the spot.