Why does mix sound bad?

Fiddlermatt

This is my first attempt at recording anything. For some reason it just doesn't sound "right" to me. I think I may have been a little heavy handed with the reverb, but there's something odd sounding about my fiddle is well. Any comments to why it sounds funny to me?

Attachments

• Lonesome Moonlight Waltz-001.mp3
    2.2 MB · Views: 40
I don''t think it sounds bad at all. I like the tone you got from the fiddle quite a bit.

Even though I can't reliably tell the two apart all the time, it sounded to me more like there was a lot of room sound captured than reverb added. I guess I could stand for it to sound more upfront and immediate, you know? I still thought it was a very nice listen as is.

I think you may have hit the nail on the head. The fiddle doesn't jump out at you (which mine definitely does in person!) I haven't got to install my room treatments yet, so that may be why there is so much room noise. Thanks so far for all the helpful comments!

I think it would sound nice to bring the guitar up a bit, and maybe separate the instruments with more panning. I like the tone of the fiddle.

Nice little tune. I quite enjoyed it!

I think it would sound nice to bring the guitar up a bit

I agree. I think the trick to making the fiddle "pop" in this mix is going to actually be making it quieter and then carefully crafting a sonic space for the fiddle that makes it pop out without it being overly loud. This is tricky though, and comes with practice. But you'll notice in most commercially produced tracks, lead instruments that jump out at you (vocals, guitar solo, synth, etc.) aren't actually all that much louder than the other instruments. I think you'll find that vocals, especially, are a lot quiet than you might imagine them to be. They have a "perceived loudness" factor that is created within the mix - compression is your friend :)