Who plays with their knobs?

myhatbroke

Cocktacular Member
I actually never touch my tone knob and i only mess with the switch for solos and rythm. Bass for solos and treble for rhythm.

How do you people use your knobs?

myhatbroke said:
I actually never touch my tone knob and i only mess with the switch for solos and rythm. Bass for solos and treble for rhythm.

How do you people use your knobs?
I rub it every night...

On a serious level, I don't touch it much because I am a bassist and once it's set, it's set.

Too much to really get into...but I'll try.

First of all I switch pickups all the time. I prefer the bridge pickup for distorted rhythms and aggressive or rich sounding leads. I prefer the neck pickup for smoother leads and some clean sounds. I like the middle position for most clean sounds. I just use 2 humbuckers by the way. I use the neck pickup when I want to smear the attack a little for certain lead techniques like speed picking or arpeggios. I switch back and forth alot during solos.

I roll the volume knob back often for all kinds of stuff. Sometimes I like to sound smoother for a while and then I want the attack to jump out of the speakers for certain parts. Volume knob gets a workout. I also use the volume to clean my sound up a little instead of fooling with the amp.

I love the sound of my amp with the high end turned up a little too much and the tone knob rolled back on my guitar about halfway or a little more. It gives it a rich and juicy sound but not too much treble response. I do that when I'm trying to get that Holdsworthian, horn-like sound. Basically a really vocal sort of lead sound.

The tone knob has become an absolute necessity for me.

Every control on the guitar is a necessity for me.

I used to like the idea of one pickup and next to no controls, but I have really changed in recent years.