who needs a stinkin' mixer!

druid

So I have my computer set up. I have my sequencing program (vegas pro) my sound card (darla), mics preamps and everything else that is necesarry for homerecording. Now I am trying to mixdown and find it to be a real pain in the ass. Why? The time delay when I actually use the mouse to pan specific tracks. I am really interested in investing in a digital mixer with outboard effects ( I am eyeing the fostex 8 channel right now.) Since I am a newbie I really have no idea if this would help me. I started learning how to record on my computer and have not had any analogue experience. I have not even had the satisfaction of actually turning any physical knobs I just use my mouse to tweek the virtual ones. Can any one tell me how to go about using a mixer with a sequencing program (can I assign one channel of the mixer to a specific track on Vegas?) Are there other posts on this site that deal with this issue? Is it to my advantage to have a digital mixer for mixdown and recording or will it collect dust along with my Anteres Auto-tune program that I shelled out $200 for? If it is a worthwhile investment could you tell me what the advantages are?

I think I understand your frustration. It has more to do with your feeling of disassociation because of the lack of physical contact and the limitations of controlling a mixer on the computer screen.

Looking at a real life mixer and a mixer on a screen are two different things. Working a real life mixer and a mixer on a screen are two different things.

It has something to do with physical contact with knobs and faders as opposed to mouse contact. I think the brain functions far better with a look and feel relationship (real mixer) than a look and see relationship (screen mixer).