Which type of microphone for this environment?

soundnoob

Hello everyone,

I should start off by saying I am a novice when it comes to home audio recording.

I am wondering which kind of microphone I should be looking for. My situation/environment is as follows:

If it is relevant the room is small (10x10) and has normal drywall. The floors are carpet. There is a window which occasionally lets in light traffic sounds which are not a huge concern.

I would like to have the microphone set up in front of a couch to record conversations (at normal speaking volume) for 2-3 people at any one time. The ideal microphone distance would be about 2-3 feet from the center of the couch. This will be audio only recording so the visual elements of the the microphone will not be any kind of issue.

If it is possible I would like to somehow set up this microphone to cancel background noise as much as possible (street traffic, pets barking etc.)

It would seem that most microphones need the speakers to be much closer than the earlier mentioned 2-3 feet which is my main concern. I don't know which "spec" on a mic determines the distance that a speaker needs to be from the mic so I am having a bit of a hard time finding suitable microphones.

Thank you all for the consideration!

the problem you have is that no microphone no matter how expensive can remove the traffic noise, I'll be honest with you I personally wouldn't even bother unless it's a quiet environment, you are wasting your time.