Which mic?

Dan Colverson

Im about to buy my first condenser mic, Ive read a lot of really useful stuff here which has lead me to a few specific questions. The mics Ive been looking at are: Audio Technica AT4040, Rode NTK, AKG Perception 400 & the AKG SolidTube. Im gonna try them out and see what I like but I thought id try and get some advice here first cos I am basically a total mic newbie and to be honest probably wont be able to actually appreciate the differences too well at first.

My preamp is very basic and will be upgraded at some point but for now its a Studio Projects VTB-1. I know those mics are probably never gonna shine through that preamp but I wanna get a decent starting point that I can use for a few years. I intend to use it for mainly vocals but some acoustic guitar would be cool too, but vocals is the important thing. I have my eye on the Rode NTK in particular, partly cos I heard it is good at adding something to a voice like mine. I have a pretty soft, weak, low voice (male) which can be heard through an SM58 into a guitar amp:
http://www.myspace.com/100percentcottonmusic

Anyone got any thoughts?

Reactions: SRR
Only mic from that list that I've used is the AT4040.

I used it on acoustic guitar and my friend recorded vocals on it. It sounded real nice. Very clear and detailed. I think you would be happy with it for awhile.

I had a Rode NTK for a while and dug it. It's a very good vocal mic for the money though I found it to be kind of sibilant. I've read many times on various MB's that this has a lot to do with the stock tube that comes with it and that if you swap the tube out for something nicer that it can help smooth out the top end.