Where to place Reflective & Absorptive materials??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jake1

OK i'm new to this...i have a very small room like 10 x 11 with 8 ft ceilings...i'm planning to treat my room without buying expensive brand name materials.. I've watched a ton of videos and what not and i'm still not sure about some things....so i have a few questions here....are bass traps meant to be absorptive or reflective??? and @ what positions to you put absorbers??? and what positions to you put reflectors????

Bass traps are absorbers. Specifically they absorb low frequencies well. You want bass traps in the room corners and more absorption at the first reflection points. This article lays it out pretty well (no pun intended). If you want to keep it on the cheap, Roxul Safe rockwool is a lot less expensive than the rigid fiberglass by Owen Corning, Knaff etc.
Ethan also has some videos on youtube. Search "Ethan Winer"

Good question, I'm keeping my eye on this. To quote Johnny Rotten I'm a lazy sod so I bought some ATS Acoustics broadband panels, the 2'x4' panels were only 48 bucks or so each. Got 2 of those and 2 of the 2x2 panels, all burgundy, they match the curtains.. :)

I'm thinking the 2x4 jobs could go in the front corners, are they okay flat on the wall in the corner, or is straddling the corner betters. Also would the 2 smaller panels be better behind the mixing desk, or on the side wall? Many thanks.

thanks Jeff... & once i get my absorbers up, my reflectors (studio foam) can just go where ever?