What's the problem with opamps?

Rev E

I've read several threads with comments (usually negative) about opamps. I don't know too much about electronics ... I'm more of "user" than a techie. What's so bad about opamps? Do they change the sound, usually for the worse? Do passive circuits not have opamps? Do tell kids...

Hi Rev
I'm no techie myself, but I just semi-ignorantly mess with things electronic. As far as I know, there's nothing intrinsically bad about operational amplifiers - in fact, I love 'em.

Here's a neat little primer on how they work:
http://www.tonmeister.ca/main/textbook/electronics/12.html

They can be made as integrated circuits, or out of discrete components. There are thousands of different ones available, from those not suitable for audio use for various reasons, to those specifically designed for audio. They run in cost from a few cents, to the hundred dollar range (or maybe more - I don't know).
I suppose if you use the wrong one in a circuit it may not work optimally, or be noisy, or what-have-you. That's why people are always talking about "dropping" an upgrade into a circuit (many IC types have standard pinout configurations and can be pin for pin replacements for each other, especially easy if they are mounted in sockets).
Many even high end preamps and other equipment use op amp circuitry.

By the way, Rev, I was perusing some IC specs today and came across what is possibly a message to one of your kin. If you see him (or her), let him know. And say hi to the Rev's A, C, D, and any others out there. :)

Attachments

• revb.jpg
    revb.jpg
    35.3 KB · Views: 201
Ignorance and superstitious is part of the problem, applicability of op-amps to the intended uses discusses herein at these audio forums is the other part of the problem (the bigger one).