what would you do if this happens...

zebra

hello,

i want to share this story with all of you. with the perception of being a proffesional acoustic sound ingeneer " on location".
i recorded last month this band who play on iranian instruments and guiter and sax. it was a 3 day live recording.
the job includes recording, mixing and evt cdr duplication.
the recording has been done, so i started the mix, and made a premix for them (wich you can also listen on this forum.)

http://www.soundclick.com/accousticrecording

now i gave them a premix and i invited them to sit together on the table to have a word about taste and pros and cons about the mixed live recording. i didnt give it a finnished touch and wanted to share this with the clients.

we just had a meeting and they just told me they want to do the mix somewhere else. because they know im still new in this catogory of musicmixing. and wanted to do this with a sound ingeneer more xperienced. he is like 15yrs in the bizz.
they said and i qoute " we dont have time for this, and i dont know how it i could help. its a waste of time to sit behind the mixingdesk and sit together to talk about it ".
my question to you all, is there a mistake i made? is it healty to invite clients for sharing and talking about taste, and where u want to go with the finnished product?
or should i leave them out and mix it till finnished product. then ask if they are happy with it.

feedback is welcome greetz Peter
p.s. you can listen to a mix of what they heard.

Well I haven't listened yet (but I will) and all I can say is that I don't thing you did anything wrong. When I record someone, they love to hear rough cuts and have some input on the final mix.

Maybe they saw this as a sign that you were "lost" and needed their help instead of just wanting to hear their opinions? :confused:

Interesting take on a Beatles tune...