What to do with this bedroom

Fiddlermatt

Hi, everyone. By way of introduction my name is Matthew and I'm a bluegrass musician from Oklahoma. I've taught and played professionally for a few years and have recorded two CDs with a professional. I want to set up a small home recording area where I can create backing tracks for myself and generally doodle around. Unfortunately, while I attend university, this will have to be in my bedroom. I understand there are many pitfalls to doing this, and I am well aware of the fact I will probable never get halfway decent sounding recordings.

The recording chain I'm considering is a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 used with either my desktop or laptop and a mid-range condenser microphone as well as a few dynamics.

I've attached a crude drawing of the room. Please forgive the shoddy artwork. It is 12x14', the floors are carpeted (ouch), the walls are wood paneling, and the ceiling is rough textured sheet rock. It has two windows (shown by diamonds.) and a small closed. Only one corner is exposed, and I'm hoping that will cut down the bass. I can record from either desk. When I do the clap test, I don't hear any unusual or horrible sounds.

What are the main hazards I need to be watching for? I can't really modify the room in any way, but I could add non-permanent things. What tests do you recommend I perform to get a better picture of what kind of stuff I'll need to treat it effectively? I hope all these questions don't sound completely stupid.
Thanks,
Matthew

Attachments

• Room.png
    Room.png
    26.7 KB · Views: 117
Well as a Audio Engineer and Acoustic consultant you have to consider the Standing waves that you will have in the room the bounces of the frequencies above 300HZ . Also you have to run a few test that measures the room in .60 to .85 seconds of Reverb to have a nice treated room.
I can help you out just ask what you need ^^
by the way