What should I purchase first after Sonar

wanderingbard

I am running a HP 1.73GHZ computer with 512 MB of RAM and Basic computer soundcard VIA AC'97 AUDIO which has a single jack in the back.

I just bought sonar producer. I know it is an awesome program for what I want to do. I have been playing keyboards/piano for about 27 years. I compose on the fly most of the time---I make classical---Jazz---Latin---Celtic---Bluegrass---goth-techno--Opera---as well as comercial jingle music to support my more creative endeavors.

Like most everyone out there, I am on a budget. I want to create a lot of CDs because there are a lot of concerts that I will be playing in this summer/fall and I think I can get some CDs sold. The type of music on my first CD will be in Celtic, Middle Eastern, Classical, and Folk Styles of music. It will have my voice solos on it as well.

I have been told that to make good quality CDs I needed Sonar producer and a few other things including a better soundcard, Cables, Microphone, Headphones, and monitors.

With only about 450.00 left to spend, I have been told to buy the Firewire 410 soundcard and go for a cheaper MIC, Headphones, Cables, and Monitors.

I was told that of those items, the firewire 410 is the best thing to spend the big cash on and to go cheap on the monitor, headphones and cables until I get more moolah.

I hear that firewire costs about 300.00 and since my computer does not have a firewire slot, I would need to purchase a firewire card to stick in my computer as well which would run about another 30.00.

If this is a good idea to splurge on the card and go cheap on the rest of the stuff, please let me know. I worry that the souondcard will become obsolete. I figure that if I can grab a little cash from some gigs, CDs sold, and jingles I can get a better mic, monitors, headphones, and cables at a later date.