what should I do with this couch?

jlewis

attic boy
So I'm working on a little home recording studio and here is a quick approximate drawing of the room as it is,
recordingstudio.jpg

I'm wondering if this is a good way to set up this room, I'm pretty new to room acoustics and im stressing about everything from the cutout by the door and by the desk and how those might affect my speaker placement, to if the couch is going to affect the sound coming to my right ear.
Any suggestions on what someone with more experience might do would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

So I'm working on a little home recording studio and here is a quick approximate drawing of the room as it is,
recordingstudio.jpg

I'm wondering if this is a good way to set up this room, I'm pretty new to room acoustics and im stressing about everything from the cutout by the door and by the desk and how those might affect my speaker placement, to if the couch is going to affect the sound coming to my right ear.
Any suggestions on what someone with more experience might do would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

You sound exactly like I did a few days ago... You should see the disaster that is my "studio" :laughings:

First of all, take my advice with a grain of salt.

Ok, so first I am going to assume that your closet is a permanent structure... well you have no choice but to leave it there unless you wanna do some construction...
Desk is fine where it's at
I'd put the couch on the 14' wall - (just personal preference)
In the bottom left corner of the room you have a weird little corner sticking out... which is no problem, just bass trap both recessed corners.

Jlewis,

That's a good suggestion to move the couch...