What should I charge for producer's fee?

Jef Gibbons

Hi all, I'm pretty new to the producer thing, and need some advice. I currently have about 6 clients that come to my studio (which I recently built with help from this forum!) that I help write songs with. Meaning a lot of them come with a melody, and I come up with the chord progressions, harmonies, help adjust the melody, lay down piano, bass and sequencing etc. I also pretty much arrange the song for them, then they sing the vocals. What would be fair for me to charge as a percentage of the songs in this case (assuming they make any money down the road)? I can't find much info on this topic, but would like to know what other people do in these cases. THe other question is what to charge as a percentage if I just record and arrange the song? Thanks for any help, jef

Charge them a per hour rate and in the contract have some kind of agreement about production credits and co-writting credits so if they get picked up by a company or publisher you get some royalties. 50/50 should be fair if your doing alot of work or 60/40 and charge what you think is reasonable for your per house rate.

It really dependson the potential of the band....

if they are gonna sell some records, you could easily waive initail writing fees and settle for a percentage of writing royalties and a point or two for producing........

if they arent gonna sell anything, or much at all, royalties and points wont amount to crap so you should charge them up front...then again, if the band and the song is going nowhere, do you really want to give up your material to them?....

Forgive me....I'm an old fart.
Back when I was elbow deep in aligators, the producer was the one that spent the lion's share of the money and in turn owned whatever he paid for, until paid back or some other pre-arranged deal was satisfied.