What is an audio track and what is an instrument track

manticoreboy

Hi guys, I have Studio One 2 Professional and whilst I have done quite a bit of home recording over the last 20 plus years using Tascam Portastudios and also have used a PC extensively at work and home for 15 years plus I am a newbie when it comes to DAW.
I have done quite a bit of work on it so far playing around with it and watching tutorial videos from the likes of Groove3, you tube etc. and have recorded some tracks but I have decided to go back a bit and read the manual whilst watching the videos, the problem being I want to race ahead too quickly and I am now conscience of maybe missing stuff.

Can some please explain this.
in the manual it says ''before recording can take place you need at least one track on which to record'' (I am okay with what a track is).
It then says ''Studio One has 2 types of track; the Audio track and the instrument track. audio is recorded to Audio track, whilst musical performance data is recorded to instrument tracks''

Can someone please try and explain ''simply'' what the difference between audio and instrument track is and what ''musical performance'' data is?

is it simply ''Audio'' is say recording a guitar or vocal and ''Instrument'' is MIDI stuff such recording a drum track from my Superior Drummer software plug in.

many thanks in advance for any help

Phil