What is a good Mic for a very powerful low female voice?

dleflerrice

I am just getting started in my recording set up and am looking at a mic to record my wife. she has a very powerful low voice and I want to capture all of the emotion it carries in the studio. I have been looking at the MXL genisis, and the Blue baby bottle. does anyone have any experience with these mics or recording female voice?

thanks

and by the way I am a nube here so thanks again:)

Howdy and welcome to the forum.

Powerful low voice? I would tend to aim you at a EV RE 20 (Bonnie Raitt's studio mic). But you can pick up a re 15 (dolly Parton, Elvis) used for a lot cheaper than a 20 new. Or look for a 20 used. Maybe a Shure SM7.

What are you using as your microphone pre amp?

I'd be careful with a tube mic for a woman with a very powerful voice. If you get the settings wrong on your preamp, you may find it will distort or get grainy. A Neumann U87 works well for woman's voices. The M149 did not work as well on a female recording as it does on mens voices. I tried what I had... a KSM44 and it held up well on the female voice I recorded. You may want to try an AKG 414 with the -10dB pad on it. They seem to have a full sound and will work well with a wide dynamic range. The 414 will also offer you a clearer tone for a person singing in a lower register. Good luck!!

That's what you call "Pulling it back and letting it go !"

My good friend who I've been recording since last century has a deep voice for a woman. And very powerful; I often joke that she doesn't need amplification of any kind. I honestly use any old mic on her. She blasts all of them ! :D
Get your wife to stand back a bit when she's going to let go.

thanks for the info so far guys looks like I have some more research:) and I am looking at using just a simple tube pre-amp from a friend of mine but I dont remember what it is.