What happens when you master?

TheloniusMonk

Please forgive me for the stupidity of the question, but im new to this..

Lets say you have the wav files from a home recording session, and you give them to a professional studio to master...

Will they simply take your original wav files, tweek them and edit them with software, and then create a new wav file that I could burn to a disk myself?

Or will mastering simply give me an audio cd without any change to the wav files themselves?

How would you then replicate these CDs without having to rely on the studio to do it for me?

In the past, I've just burn mp3 or wav to a CD at home, but I assume mastering changes the rules of the game and the format completely, am I right?

Thanks..

They should do whatever you want. It's part of the process of negotiating with the mastering house.

They will either provide you with a set of mastered WAVs or a Redbook-compliant CD.

If you get the WAV files you can burn CDs yourself.

If you gtet a CD you can burn your own copies, or send it away for replication or duplication.

They should do whatever you want. It's part of the process of negotiating with the mastering house.

They will either provide you with a set of mastered WAVs or a Redbook-compliant CD.

If you get the WAV files you can burn CDs yourself.

If you gtet a CD you can burn your own copies, or send it away for replication or duplication.

Thanks gecko.. you've always been cool about answering my questions, appreciate it!

One followup:

Is there any advantage or disadvantage to the 2 formats you mentioned?

If you use the mastered wav files to burn it at home, will your resulting audio CD be as good as if you sent a redbook compliant CD away to be replicated?

Also, If you sent away the master CD to be replicated, you would have nothing left, and if they lost it, you'd be screwed!

I have a lot of concerns..

Thanks gecko.. you've always been cool about answering my questions, appreciate it!

One followup: