What do I need!

cj1

Hey :)

I'm completely new to producing music and am after some help on how to progress. Currently I am just recording guitar riffs using Sony Acid Pro 7. I currently plug my guitar into my amp then have a lead running from the line out input into a 1/4-1/8 convertor and into my mic slot on my laptop. The sound isn't great as you can imagine and everytime theres a pause of sound in a riff it starts to make a buzzing noise. I'm looking out for a condenser mic to record vocals and also I've been told Shure SM57 mics are good to record guitar.

I'd be really grateful if i could get some tips on perhaps better software or what equipment i am missing which is essential to record at a decent quality level. Any experience you have which you could pass on would be great as I am looking to take this alot more seriously and have no experience

Thanks,

Curtis

The heart of your problem is that you are using the laptop's internal soundcard to record with (via the mike socket). This is where the poor quality comes from.

You will find yourself unhappy with the sound you get until you get a dedicated recording interface. You plug your guitar, mikes, whatever, into this, and it transfers the sound digitally via USB or Firewire. It becomes your new soundcard.

Thanks for the reply :) Would you be able to recommend an audio interface to me? something that would be good to start out with possibly

Thanks

There are many reasonably priced USB interfaces out there if you just want to record (at the most) two tracks at once. Search for Tascam, Lexicon Lambda, Edirol and similar.

id suggest an interface from Line6 as they are pretty much guitar specific and the Pod software thrown in is of a high standard if you want to try some different effects/amps etc..

here are other interfaces that will do more but the are generally bundled with sequncer programs and you already own Acid..

just my personal opinion