What Difference Does It Make?

Oweh

This is something Ive put alot of thought into the past few years. Im interested to hear your folks opinion on the matter.

Let me tell you my story:

Ive been playing in a few different bands for well over 10 years now. It always started out in good fun, but at some point everyone decided that we needed to be heard. That was the ultimate goal. Print albums, go on tour, get our tshits on their backs, (usually) loose money in the process. Offer free downloads to those who were too broke (or cheap) to buy. All to get the music heard. At some point I started to study how music marketing works, how copyright works, all the business side of things. All in an effort, to increase our chances of getting HEARD.
Im sure this is a familiar story to many...

Well, In the last few years, I began to feel very burnt out from playing "the game". So I quit. The bands I was in, either disbanded or announced hiatuses, and I walked away. I was a noob "engineer" for years during all this, and once I stopped playing, I started focusing on recording and mixing, as an effective way to waste my time.
At some point during all this, I started a crappy solo recording project. 50% because I wanted to explore a particular genre, 50% because I wanted something to hone my mixing skills on.

Last week I started working on my 9th album for the project. I never had expectations that it would come this far, and I still enjoy the hell out of it. I think for one particular reason: Ive never shared it with anyone. Asides from playing it for a few close friends, I have given it ZERO promotion. Ive never printed an album. Never once made a facebook post or a youtube video. Ive never worried about writing a hook, or wether or not a lyrical pattern is effective, because Ive never been concerned if someone else would hear it. Im simply CREATING, and Im doing it for myself. Granted, there are alot of songs that arent very good, I have a few that I consider my "gems"...