What are YOUR essential rack effects?

DeshevldMusic

Hi guys.
I'm a newbie that has only ever recorded with line6 plugins and a line6 interface but would like to learn more about rack effects and combinations and figured a good way to start would be to ask all of you experienced folk what you use in your set up and how you use it.

thanks
Andy:spank:

I use no rack effects and mostly write my own VSTs. I could also build my own effects, but there is little point in that, they just consume unnecessary power.

The possible exception is a hardware reverb unit, those are kinda fun to play with and coding a good software reverb is very difficult.

I use no rack effects and mostly write my own VSTs.

That's very cool that you do that. You pretty much create whatever "gear" you need. :cool:

I could also build my own effects, but there is little point in that, they just consume unnecessary power.

Yeah...but there's something magical about all them electrons flying through them wires! :D

The days when I'm actually tracking or mixing, and I fire up much of my studio racks and mixer...there's just a nice vibe with all the stuff powered up and glowing.
When I'm just editing/comping in the 'puter with a mouse-n-keyboard and staring at the LCD screens...it's like, yaaaaawn...rather lifeless.
But they all really are cool technologies...there's just so many ways to record these days! :)

pretty much.

except for the variety part. :o

:D
Yeah, variety is wonderful, but many of us just can't afford that - at least not all at once.

Conventional wisdom would be to try for at least one two-channel compressor, one two-channel EQ and one stereo reverb unit to fill out the standard minimum compliment, with the potential to add on from there as time and budget allows. This is what I did originally and have been very happy with it, both at home and in mobile situations (same compact rack for both.)