What are the limitations of outboard effects, and how do you get around them?

Spaceboy108

I'm only beginning learning the application of EQ, compressors, reverb, etc in a mic. I've been fooling around with the stock plugins contained in Pro Tools (currently on version 10). I am definitely a "hands on" person and would rather pump money into hardware than plugins, although I'm aware it could cost much more. I'm wanting to grab some basic hardware to get another feel for these effects rather than sitting here with my mouse, although it's definitely been helpful. I'm curious about the limitations of hardware for home recording on a budget, and how easily they can be gotten around. It seems like hardware can only be used on one track, meaning you would need another compressor for each track that you might want to work on. Is there any way to use one piece of hardware that could be used on any track, without having to get behind the rack and change cabling? The limitation of only applying to one track is the main reason I'm still considering plugins. I've read every "hardware vs plugin" thread I could find on the internet, and while all logic points to plugins being the better route, I know that I'm more likely to use and get a feel for what's needed with hands-on hardware.

(1) I'm a hardware guy.
(1a) The hardware actually has to be "worth it" (if the hardware is "eh" then you're probably better sticking with plugs. If the conversion isn't "worth it" then the same).

(2) Undoubtedly, "worth it" hardware can be a relatively to extremely expensive route.
(2a) I'm a mastering guy, so I'm generally working with a single, stereo source - not 16-40 channels.