Weird drum mods

saads

Baka
I remember when I just started playing drums, I put tape on the underside of my cymbals. Not because I needed to damp the cymbals or anything, but because I saw it in the Smells like teen spirit video :D
I did realize later on that it was stupid and took it off. I'm wondering if any of you have done weird/unnecessary stuff to your drums at some point. I'm sure most of us have fallen prey to the blanket/sleeping bag/pillows in kick drum routine :p

I've never been one to tape/muffle my drums or cymbals. It always seemed counter-intuitive to me. I've taped toms for a song or two for a certain sound, but 99.99999% of the time my drums are wide open and always have been. Probably the weirdest stuff I did when starting out was go ultra minimal. I'd use a kick, snare, floor tom and a ride/crash. I spent years drumming like that in the early 90'. I had three legit reasons for using such a small kit: 1) it was a psychobilly band. Hi-hats and 80's style tom rolls were taboo. 2) it was quick and easy to transport and set up. I'd just throw everything in the trunk of my GTO and hit the road. 3) the girls could see me. I didn't wanna be hiding behind toms and cymbals. Make all the drummer jokes you want, but chicks dig drummers. It's primal. A man hitting things with clubs to make a driving beat. It makes bitches wet.

I had a cheap drumkit when I was reaaaallllyyy little. Maybe about 6-8 years old. The snares broke, so I wound up tying soda tabs to the side of the drum and laying them on the top head. I taped the yarn down so they wouldn't bounce too much. Viola! Snare sound again... Well for a 7 year old at least.

Not sure if this counts- the "drums" being so cheap...