WAV TO MIDI

jimini2001

i'm really new to the computer domain.i want to know
if it's possible to convert wav files to midi files.if so,
with what softwear?it's just a thought.thanks
jim

Softwear -- cotton is pretty soft ;)

Seriously, yes, this can be done -- monophonically, at least (melodic lines, that is, rather than chords or multiple lines). How well is a subject for debate. I was curious about this myself because I thought if I could take a relatively clean guitar track and MIDIfy it I would be able to get MIDI parts together quicker than my skill at the keyboard allows me. I found several shareware programs in the $30-70 range that will do this, but have not yet had the opportunity to try any of them.

Here's one link to get you started:

http://www.audioworks.com/

-AlChuck

thanks alchuck.my thoughts exactly.it sort of seems like cheating to learn a guitar track this way but when you work 7/10s'it dosen't leave much time to tab out songs by ear.those skills will probably suffer from this though.i'll chech out that site right now thanks again.
jimini

It sort of seems like cheating to learn a guitar track this way but when you work 7/10s'it dosen't leave much time to tab out songs by ear.

jimini2001, I don't think this technology will help you learn songs off records. For one thing, recordings are mixed -- all kinds of stuff in the WAV file going on at once -- it's virtually impossible to separate parts out of that. It's kind of like trying to get mixed paint back into separate cans of its constituent colors...

Also, even if you had a monophonic, single-instrument part isolated out of a mix, it needs to be as clean as possible for software to figure it out. Overtones from distortion, slurring and bending of notes, other effects (delay, 'verb, etc.) are going to complicate the deal.