volume levels

mfro98

Im fairly new to home recording with a small stuio setup....

Mackie 1402-VLZ Pro mixer

Echo Layla card

Event PS5's

Cubase, Sound Forge, Friuty Loops

and various instruments.

Im trying to make sure that my volume levels are not clipping and
at the same time not to low. My main question is... do you record
around 0 db's (which when played in cubase seems low
compared to mp3's i have) and boost the volume in cubase
for you final mixdown, or do you keep it low and then go into sound forge or wave lab and normalize the mix to bring the volume up?

I noticed that a recent mix, when normalized, clipped and

sounded a little distorted, but before normalizing it sounded fine.

I suspect that I had the volume levels set too high in cubase.

Any comments appreciated

Thanks,
Matt

that a rece

Nomalizing should not cause a mix to clip. The idea behind normalizing is the find the highest peak in the wave and bring that to 0db, then bring everything else up proportionally. So if your highest peak is at -2db, the entire file will be raised 2db (including the noise floor). My guess is you had distortion in the recording and just didn't hear it until you raised the volume.

Ideally you want to record as to close to 0db, but without ever going over 0db. In the real world, most homerec'ers generally take a safe approach and peak out at around -3db. This gives you a little extra cushion against possible clipping. Tools exist to raise the overall volume of a recorded sound, but no tools exist to get rid of clip in your recording. Therefore, err on the low side rather than the high side.

but no tools exist to get rid of clip in your recording

I'm pretty sure I saw a "clipped peak restoration" plugin/tool somewhere (either in SoundForge or Vegas...)

Now whether it ACTUALLY WORKS or not....

MFRO98,