Vocals drowned out

kno1ills@yahoo.

I make hip hop music and sometimes I have a problem with the sample and the vocals competing with each other. Like the frequencies are very similar and at the same level so they have a drowned out sound.<I think thats whats happening. Any suggestions? I'm not that good at mixing, but have no choice but to learn. Thanks

Your beat is probably too busy.

It's a common thing. Too much stuff going on. Tone the beat down during the verses. Less is more.

Think of a print ad with a whole bunch of pictures and busy colors going on behind the text. Kind of drowns the message out. Visually speaking, the ad would work much better if the background was simple, as it would help the message (text) to stand out.

Music is really no different.

You're welcome.

i forget the name of the method, but u basically create a whole in the beat/sample and sit the vocal into it via EQ. like taking the vocals more dominant frequencies, subtracting those freq. a few dB in the beat/sample, it helps the vocal cut thru more... but if u trying to get the sample out, i guess u could take that theory and EQ it differently then the vocal to help it stand out... just ideas...

i forget the name of the method, but u basically create a whole in the beat/sample and sit the vocal into it via EQ. like taking the vocals more dominant frequencies, subtracting those freq. a few dB in the beat/sample, it helps the vocal cut thru more... but if u trying to get the sample out, i guess u could take that theory and EQ it differently then the vocal to help it stand out... just ideas...

Sounds like it might work.^

Thanks everyone for the input.