Vocal Effects 101 - I need advice :)

SilverSurfer

Ok, got 16 tracks of vocals recorded, compressed and now I that I have edited out the junk (noise, deep breaths etc) what is the typical 90's ROCK vocal settings?

IE:

Reverb
Delay
Chorus

In other words, what is the tyical mix like so I can use that for a baseline?

Also, what about for guitar, bass and drums?

I have a lead vocal, plus 3 backing tracks for each main vocal of which I have 4. So I am really trying to figure out:

Volume for the lead
Volume for secondary
Volume/pan for third
Volume/pan for fourth

Effects on each one.

Since I am new to home recording, this is my first time going in depth on a recording and I really want it to come out well.

Any experts (or non) care to chime in?

What kind of rock, name a band...give me some sort of clue.
In general most vocals lately are pretty dry, small verbs and little vocal spreading pitch shifters and such. It is very genre specific and has as much to do with the type of voice and arrangement as it does with the style of music.
Just do what you think is best, there is no set way to do it.

Farview said:
What kind of rock, name a band...give me some sort of clue.
In general most vocals lately are pretty dry, small verbs and little vocal spreading pitch shifters and such. It is very genre specific and has as much to do with the type of voice and arrangement as it does with the style of music.
Just do what you think is best, there is no set way to do it.

Early 90's Seattle Rock ala: Alice in Chains, Soundgarden.

Thanks!

SilverSurfer said:
Early 90's Seattle Rock ala: Alice in Chains, Soundgarden.

Thanks!