virus protection

jimistone

long standing member
I just received a laptop that I purchased on ebay. It's a windows 7 enterprise OS. It dosen't have virus protection software.

Amy suggestions?

Avast. Get the free version only - they sometimes try and 'persuade' you into getting the paid version by making the button for the free version grey and the paid version bright green.

+1 for Avast.

However shut it down entirely and turn off your wifi when doing any serious sound stuff.

I have been using the Malware Bytes paid version for about 5+ years (paid only once) and I don't even bother to turn it off. It is a very price worthy product and it doesn't seem to impact performance. You can also use ignore folders to keep it from scanning your project areas.

I would recommend 2 complimentary software products. As a professor of computer science and former director of one of the world's largest supercomputing centers, I won't recommend specific products but will tell you that on the computers in my studio, I have Symantec and MalwareBytes. Each does a full scan every day during hours I am sleeping. Each is pro-active 24/7. I never need to turn them off when doing sessions (I do turn off Carbonite and Smart Sync Pro when recording - I use Studio One Pro, fyi). This combination has been very successful for me personally in terms of antivirus/malware and backups on the PC systems running Win 7 64 bit Pro in my studio.

Been using Avast free for 6 years without a hitch. MS Security Essentials allowed that stupid Conduit thing on my computer. Horrid to get rid of, so I switched and have been happy since. :D

Just to be clear, Avast has never caused me a problem if I leave it running while doing recording...but it's my policy to have NOTHING running in background when doing serious audio work--and it's a policy which has stood me in good stead for many years.