Violin Bass CASE

TaxMan88

Could someone here PUHLEEZE help me find a hardshell case for a violin bass (like Paul McCartney's)?? Not a rectangular case. A molded one like the old Hofner cases. I've checked eBay and about every online merchant, and I just can't find it.

Help me out if you can.

Thanks,
--Tax :D

I wish you the best of luck.........I have a Hofner Beatle bass ('60s) that I finally just bought a gig bag for.The original case was really rotten and broken,so I tossed it.

I can't help you with the case. But I've always wanted a violin-style bass (unsurprisingly, given my moniker)

Does Hofner still make 'em? Are there decent, lower-priced knock-offs? Have any advice for me? I'm primarily a guitarist but would love to have a bass to record and occasionally perform with.

Rogue make sa really cheap knock off. Like $200 I think. Musician's Friend sells them. I won't say buy it from Musician's Friend (god bless their horrendous customer service and employees I'd like to castrate) because as my luck goes, you won't get it within the next few months, but they do sell it.

Jake

Rogue knock off . . .

As much as I'd like to say that I have a true Hofner violin bass, I don't. I have the Rogue knock off. That having been said, I DO have to admit that I absolutely LOVE the thing. Aside from the large ROGUE insignia on the headstock, the thing is a dead ringer. As for the sound, it sounds DAMNED GOOD. And in my opinion, it doesn't sound DAMNED GOOD just for the price, either. It just sounds DAMNED GOOD. Not that it'll blow a Fender Precision out of the water, but in some applications I'll bet it would. It ships with really crappy strings, but I bought a set of D'Addario flat wound strings and the thing smokes with those on it. It's got a really warm lush tone to it and if you do some tweaking on it you can really get a poppy tone. I'm very pleased with it and I believe it was a well invested 250 smackers.