pip2012!

Equipment:-
1989 Macintosh SE/30
Cubase lite 1.0
Midiman serial to midi interface box
Roland SC88vl general midi sound canvas module
Roland ED-PC300 keyboard controller

Hi all,
I’ve had a hankering for sometime to setup my 33 year old apple macintosh SE/30 as a vintage recording studio using cubase or some other type of software from the period.
I am though a complete novice to recording studio software and Midi. Probably bitten off more than i can chew but would like to get it working and attempt to use it.
Problem is getting the midi to work, i can now play midi tracks from the computer through the sound canvas midi module but having problems getting the keyboard to work and show up on the computer. Maybe i’ve wired it wrong or misunderstand how cubase works so any help would be appreciated.
Obviously running such old equipment and software there’s limited online resource so hoping someone may have used something similar in the 80/90s.

Regards

Neal

How have you got the sound canvas wired? You are presumably driving the Midiman interface from the computer and have the midi out from the interface going into the sound canvas midi in? The keyboard would normally just connect to the Midiman midi in, then in cubase, there is a menu to direct it back out to the midi out. This is how we did our very first cubase lite setup in the college I worked at. That was a very unusual version of Cubase aimed at schools and colleges so it had the usual cubase midi features with the score editor, and you worked mostly with notes on a stave. It was a bit rotten at notation that was not played to the metronome very well, and it looked a real mess.

How is yours wired at the moment?

Hi Rob,
Thanks for the quick reply.