Vf80-CD Question

m98ter

I think that I've finally narrowed down my standalone multitrack search to the VF80-CD (well, maybe a Tascam 788), and I have a question. First of all let me say I'm a complete digital multitrack newbie, so this is probably obvious. After I've recorded my six, eight, two, or however many tracks I want on a song at a time and I mix and master them as I like (I know using a computer is the best way for that, but I don't have one), am I able to burn them as a whole onto the built in CDR? From reading around, it almost seemed as if I was only able to burn single tracks more for data backup or pc upload rather than buring my finished songs. Thnaks for the help.

Will

The VF80 is a great machine. You have several options with the internal burner. You can either burn 8-tracks of material onto a disc as .wav files for backup or pc editing. You can also backup 8 tracks with all settings (eq/effects) on a disc using the FDMS-3 backup format. Lastly, you can mix down tracks 1-6 into a stereo master on tracks 7/8, with effects, eq, compression, etc. Then you can burn that finished stereo Master onto a CD.

The Fostex's are VERY stable machines that do not require defragging, optimizing of the Hard Drive. The machine does this as you go. It saves as you go too, so you just shut off the recorder when you're done working, just like on a tape deck. The VF80 also offers scene automation (to make adjustments during a mixdown). In addition the VF80 is totally digital, so mixes never leave the digital domain.

The TASCAM is getting a bit long in the tooth, though it is a 24bit recorder, and has more simultaneous inputs. The harddrive on some 788's is very noisy, depending on which is installed. The VF80 I owned was much quieter than the 788 I tried.

Even so, you should be able to make excellent recordings on either one. By the way, Tascam has released a new 24-track portastudio (2488?) for a little over $1,100. I don't know where this leaves the 788.