VF08 and Philips CDR775

Jonboy

Apologies to those who have tried to help with this question before! (particularly bbbmusic). I just haven't grasped the concept guys!
Anyway here goes....
I have recently invested in a VF08 Digital Multitracker and want to master to a Philips CDR775 (I can't afford the Fostex burner at the moment).
Problem is I don't know if I need the COP1 converter or not.
I have attached a jpeg showing the rear connections of the Philips machine.
On viewing the picture can you please advise if I absolutely need the COP1? I am a complete novice and do need things spelled out!
If I don't need the converter, how do I connect the burner to the machine. (Manual is unclear)
Jonboy

Attachments

• cdr775.jpg
    cdr775.jpg
    75 KB · Views: 41
You don't need the converter. Just hook up the VF08 'S/P-DIF DATA Output to the Philips Digital In (#6 on the picture).

Use a video cable, the ones with the yellow plugs.

micmac

on a DMT-8 & 765----

I know it's not the exact same setup but pretty similar. I use the optical connection. However, I can mix down that way, and I can back up off of it.... but I can't retrieve the backups. I believe your recorder is easier to backup though, so that's not a big deal.

Just select the correct input on the phillips...

Thanks guys!
Next question then - what provides the better quality...Optical or S/P-DIF connections...or is the quality the same?
I've ordered the burner and am getting an optical cable with it.
Jonboy

Cheers blackbuck!
Presumably when u talk about back-up in your earlier post - u mean data back-up to CD??? or computer???
Jonboy

I use it for data backup to cd, since my computer's not well equiped enough to backup to it.

I plan on using a DVD to get the data off. Hopefully that will work, but I havn't tried it yet with the new one I bought.

If you want to use the optical input on your Philips (going from the VF08), you'll need to get the COP-1 or a similar unit.