Using Sends

MattNZ

I'm fairly new to this, but I'm a bit confused about sends. As far as I can see, when you send a signal out through a bus, you can then process that signal and dial in as much of that processed sound as you want.

How does this differ from applying an effect directly to a track?

Very confused.

I'm fairly new at recording, but the impression I get is that sends are for when you want to apply the same effect to a number of tracks. For example, if you want the same reverb applied to your entire drum kit, send all mics from that kit to one bus, and apply one instance of said reverb, rather than to each individual track.

Auxiliary sends, those knobs above the EQ on your mixer, are just ways of getting sound out of the board. Think of each aux send as a mono sub mix. They are used primarily in live settings for getting signals to stage monitors. This way each monitor can have its own mix, which is important for performers. In a studio setting, aux sends are often coupled with the mixer's returns, often called stereo returns. Someone might route an aux send to the input of a reverb unit, and the output of the reverb to a return. This way the reverb unit can process more than one channel.

If you were to apply a processor to one track via insert, then you won't hear any of the dry signal.