Using Outboard Reverb

Absolutepower

I'm new to the world of using outboard effects, and just picked up my first one, a behringer v-verb. After doing a lot of research on how to actually apply this piece of equipment, I'm back to square one, and still have no clue how to approach this. I have a couple of questions.
1. Do I need to set it up as a send where I send out the track I've recorded out to the v-verb, and then back into my laptop in order to process a track with it? Should I use Spdif for this?

2. I'm assuming that this can't be used in the same way as a plugin where you just select the track and apply it, right?
If that's the case I can really see how plugins are a lot more practical and easier to use.

One last question. I would like to try using this as an effect while tracking. The problem is I use the preamps in my interface, so I don't see how I could put the signal through the v-verb seeing as it goes right from the mic to the preamp in the interface, and then to the a/d converter to my usb port. Is there any way around all this?
Sorry for all the questions. I'm starting to wish I had never bought this thing.

What kind of interface are you using? If the interface doesn't have an insert jack after the mic preamp, you would need to use an external preamp to the reverb to a line input on the interface.

I'm starting to wish I had never bought this thing.
Unless you're using it for live use, that's probably best. You certainly don't want to track through it and I'd be absolutely shocked if the algorithms were better than the typical reverb plug.

Using it wouldn't be any different than anything else though - Output goes to input. You'd set up your aux buss (just as you would with a plugin verb) but the output of the buss would go to an output on your interface (as opposed to inserting a reverb plug on the aux buss).