Using Audacity to edit recorded peaking

iwantmypie

Hello everyone. I am fairly new to using wave editors and the one I am currently using is Audacity, which I've heard many good things about. My question is can you use a program like this to edit digital peaking on a wave file? I was looking at some old demos I've made in the past that I never got around to rerecording the vocals to fix the problem. Now I record vocals with slight compression to help the vocals (and a singer who can control his voice) and I do not have the problem anymore.

Anyways is it possible to save a wav like this and get rid of those peaks?

Thank you

Hey pie,

It's not called a "WAV editor" for nothing. ;)

I don't know what extra tools like compressors or limiters Audacity may come with, if any, but at the very least you should be able to highlight the offending peaks and then select a volume tool to knock the peaks down.

Take a look at the help file to see exactly how to do that in Audacity, but it should be pretty a simple mouse drag across the peak(s) and then selecting "volume" or "gain" from a pull-down menu somehwere, or something very similar to that.

While you're in the help, look for anything related to "compressor" or "limiter". If it comes with either of those, using them would be even less labor intensive (though you'd have to read up on just how they work if you're not familiar with those kinds of tools already.)

HTH,

G.

are the wav files actualy clipped? If you zoom in and see big flat tops on the wave form it's clipped at the recording stage. I'm not sure there's a great deal you can do about that. Compressing a clipped wav will still sound like a clipped wav......only with compression added :confused:

Thank you G. I will have to try that when I get a chance

The wav is actually clipped. Just one big mess.

hey pie ...